Cheltenham & District Schools Gala

On Thursday 24th May 2012 some of our Year 5 and 6 children participated in the Cheltenham and District Primary Schools Gala. 

Our 10 and under relay team participated with great determination and enthusiasm but unfortunately did not make it through their first heat.  I am sure that they will return next year with a little more confidence to improve on this their first appearance at what is quite a daunting event.

Our 11 and under relay team were next to take to the pool.  I am delighted to say that they won their heat with impressive style and progressed through to the relay final to compete for the ‘Gerald Cook Trophy’.  With stiff competition from many local schools it was set to be a great final.  With all their parents, families and friends (not to mention Miss Sullivan and I!) willing them on the children performed amazingly to win the event and receive this very impressive trophy.  We were all so proud and delighted for them. 

We also had notable success in the individual events this year, in which our Year 6 children took part.  Arron Peters and Zoe Turner swam superbly with Zoe narrowly missing out on a place in the final.  Cleo Hooper finished second in her heat and progressed through to the Girls Open Individual Final where she finished second overall by only a few tenths of a second.  Eddie Maddocks also reached the Boys Open Individual Final which I am delighted to say he won by a convincing margin of over 5 seconds.  He is now the proud holder of the ‘Frank White Trophy’ for the 2012-13 season. 

It was a wonderful event to be part of and the children provided us all with some memorable moments.  Well done to all those who participated and a special thank you to Miss Sullivan for her support on the evening.

10/U Relay

Harry Carmichael

Morgan Mason

Louie Nicholson-Turnbull

Sophie Henderson

Emily Eyre

William Abbott


11/U Relay

Beth Pitchford

Eddie Maddocks

Zoe Turner

Will Sanderson

Connie Snaith

Cleo Hooper


Girls Individual – Cleo Hooper & Zoe Turner

Boys Individual – Eddie Maddocks & Arron Peters